Best Prenatal Vitamins for Women: Price-Band Map

A price-band map of five prenatal vitamins for women, from a 110-day Nature Made softgel bottle to OLLY's chewable gummy, with the trade-offs named.

Share

The best prenatal vitamins for women here are Nature Made Prenatal with Folic Acid + DHA, because one 110-count softgel bottle covers a 110-day supply at one pill daily and packs 200 mg DHA alongside all 8 B vitamins. If you'd rather have a vegan capsule with traceable sourcing, Ritual Women's Prenatal Multivitamins takes the premium slot. Both include DHA. Both target the same three pillars: folate, DHA and iron.

Best prenatal vitamins for women at a glance

Pick Format & count DHA Price
Best overall
Nature Made Prenatal + DHA
Softgel, 110 ct 200 mg Check Price
Best premium
Ritual Women's Prenatal
Capsule, 60 ct Included (claim) Check Price
Best for heavy use
Pink Stork Total Prenatal + DHA
Capsule (vegan), 60 ct 200 mg (algae) Check Price
Best for families
One A Day Prenatal Advanced
Softgel + tablet, 60+60 ct Included (claim) Check Price
Best budget pick
OLLY Prenatal Multi Gummy
Gummy, 60 ct Not listed Check Price

A quick note on the keyword. Every option here is marketed to women, but the listings differ on what "for women" actually means: some emphasise the vegan capsule, some the softgel with DHA, some the chewable format. Read the format row above before you read the price.

How I narrowed the shortlist to five

I started with the criteria that matter for a daily prenatal and weighted them in this order: DHA inclusion, folate delivery, iron content, format tolerance, and per-bottle supply length. Those weights come from what actually decides whether you keep taking the vitamin for nine months, not from what the label puts in the biggest font.

Then I checked each surviving listing against the criteria.

  1. DHA. Two picks state 200 mg DHA on the label. One states vegan DHA from algae. The other two mention DHA in the feature bullets without a stated dose in the specifications.
  2. Format. Softgels, a nested capsule, a vegan capsule, a softgel-plus-tablet combo, and a chewable gummy. Five picks, five formats.
  3. Supply. The Nature Made bottle is a 110-day supply at one softgel daily. Ritual, Pink Stork and OLLY are 60-count. One A Day ships 60+60.

Why those weights? Because prenatal vitamins are a compliance product. The one you take every day for nine months beats the one with the fanciest bullet list that sits on the shelf after two weeks of nausea. Format tolerance is not a nice-to-have.

Two things I did not weigh: brand story and packaging. Neither shows up in a blood test.

What each price tier actually buys

The five picks split cleanly across three tiers, and each tier buys something specific.

  • Entry. OLLY sits at the cheapest position in this set. Nature Made is the second-cheapest. What you get: a mainstream formula, folic acid front and centre, and either a softgel (Nature Made) or a chewable gummy (OLLY). What you give up: fewer explicit trace-mineral disclosures on the OLLY bullets, no stated DHA dose on the OLLY gummy.
  • Mid. One A Day Prenatal Advanced. What you get: two separate pills a day, a softgel carrying DHA and a tablet carrying the rest, plus a 120-piece total set. What you give up: a one-pill routine.
  • Premium. Pink Stork and Ritual. Pink Stork is the fourth position, Ritual the most expensive here. What you get: a vegan formulation, third-party testing claims, and in Ritual's case a Non-GMO Project verification and NSF certification the brand cites in the bullets. What you give up: the longest per-bottle supply. Both are 60-count.

The jump from entry to premium in this category is not a jump in nutrient list length. It is a jump in sourcing claims and in format engineering, like Ritual's nested capsule that the brand says separates fat- and water-soluble ingredients.

1. Nature Made Prenatal Vitamins for Women with Folic Acid + DHA — Best overall

A 110-day supply of one-pill-a-day softgels with 200 mg DHA and all 8 B vitamins built in.

Nature Made Prenatal + DHA softgels, 110-count red bottle — the longest per-bottle supply in this set

Best for: someone who wants a straightforward daily softgel with DHA built in. Skip it if: you cannot swallow fish-oil softgels or want a vegan formula.

Nature Made wins the default slot on two grounds: supply length and consolidation. The 110-count bottle is a 110-day supply at the stated one-softgel dose, which is the longest per-bottle runway in this set by a wide margin. Ritual, Pink Stork and OLLY each ship 60-count. One A Day ships 60+60 but asks you to take one softgel and one tablet every day. Nature Made is one pill.

The formula bundles what most guides tell you to check for: folic acid, 200 mg DHA, magnesium, and all 8 B vitamins including biotin, per the manufacturer. It's gluten-free and the brand states no synthetic FD&C dyes. The bottle is small too, at 5.13 x 2.63 x 2.63 in and 0.55 lb.

The trade-off is real. This is a fish-oil softgel, and if the smell or aftertaste is what made you look at vegan options in the first place, Pink Stork or Ritual is the better route. Nature Made also lags Ritual on sourcing transparency: the bullets emphasise US manufacturing with global ingredients, not the granular ingredient traceability Ritual leads with.

Pros:

  • 110-day supply per bottle at one softgel daily
  • 200 mg DHA and folic acid in the same softgel
  • All 8 B vitamins including biotin, per the brand
  • Gluten-free with no synthetic FD&C dyes claimed
  • Small, light bottle at 0.55 lb

Cons:

  • Fish-oil softgel format, not vegan
  • Sourcing detail is thinner than Ritual's bullets
  • Softgel size may still be a stretch during early nausea

2. Ritual Women's Prenatal Multivitamins — Best premium

A vegan capsule with a nested design and third-party testing claims, aimed at planners who want traceability.

Ritual Women's Prenatal capsule bottle — the premium slot with nested capsule technology

Best for: planners who want traceable ingredients and a vegan capsule. Skip it if: you want the longest per-bottle supply for the money.

Ritual sits at the most expensive position here, and what that buys is sourcing narrative and a distinct capsule. Ritual describes its Essential for Women Prenatal as formulated for "thinking, trying, and when it's time," with Omega-3 DHA, Choline and Folate called out in the primary bullet. The brand cites NSF as the certifying body and states every lot is third-party tested for heavy metals, major allergens and microbes. Non-GMO Project Verified is on the label per the bullets.

The technical wrinkle worth knowing about is what Ritual calls its smart capsule: a nested design the brand says keeps fat- and water-soluble ingredients separated inside a single capsule. Whether that matters biologically is not a question the listing settles, but the format itself is unusual in this set.

The obvious trade-off is bottle math. Ritual ships 60 count, so if you want a long per-bottle runway, Nature Made's 110-day supply is the more forgiving choice. The bottle is small, at 2.06 x 2.06 x 3.7 in, which suits a handbag.

Pros:

  • Vegan capsule format with Omega-3 DHA
  • NSF-cited third-party testing, per the brand
  • Non-GMO Project Verified, per the bullets
  • Nested capsule design separating soluble forms
  • Compact bottle at 2.06 x 2.06 x 3.7 in

Cons:

  • 60-count bottle, shortest supply among softgel/capsule picks
  • Most expensive pick in this set
  • Sourcing claims are not the same as clinical outcomes

3. Pink Stork Total Prenatal + DHA — Best for heavy use

A vegan capsule with 200 mg algae DHA, formulated for pregnant and lactating women.

Pink Stork Total Prenatal capsule bottle — the vegan alternative with algae-sourced DHA

Best for: anyone put off fish oil during nausea-prone weeks. Skip it if: you want the lowest daily commitment in this set.

Pink Stork earns its slot on one specific claim: 200 mg vegan DHA from algae, not fish oil, inside the same capsule as the rest of the formula. The brand pitches this as "no fishy burps," and if you've taken a fish-oil prenatal through a queasy first trimester you know why that matters. The 200 mg dose matches Nature Made's, so you're not trading dose for source.

The rest of the formula sits in premium-tier territory. Pink Stork says Total Prenatal + DHA delivers 100% Daily Value of 14 nutrients the brand describes as OBGYN-recommended, and the listing carries a Clean Label Purity Award badge alongside a third-party tested claim. Formulated without GMOs, gluten, soy, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts or animal products, per the bullets. That's a wide allergen exclusion, wider than what One A Day lists.

The bottle is small and light at 3 oz, in a slim 1.5 x 1.5 x 4 in package. The catch is supply: 60 count, and unless the daily dose is one capsule (the bullets are ambiguous on this) that's a month at most.

Pros:

  • 200 mg vegan DHA from algae, not fish oil
  • Wide allergen-exclusion list per the brand
  • Clean Label Purity Award claim on the bullets
  • Third-party tested, per the manufacturer
  • Slim bottle at 1.5 x 1.5 x 4 in

Cons:

  • 60-count bottle, shorter runway than Nature Made
  • Sells slower here than the top two picks
  • Daily dose count is not clearly stated in the bullets

4. One A Day Prenatal Advanced — Best for families

A 60+60 softgel-plus-tablet combo with choline, DHA, folic acid and iron split across two pills.

One A Day Prenatal Advanced 60+60 count softgel and tablet set — the split-pill routine

Best for: shoppers who want a softgel plus tablet routine bundled together. Skip it if: one pill a day is all you'll remember.

One A Day Prenatal Advanced takes a different approach: split the load. You get 60 softgels and 60 tablets in one set, and the daily routine is one of each with food. The reasoning is that a single softgel can only hold so much before it becomes uncomfortable to swallow, so DHA lives in the softgel and the broader multivitamin lives in the tablet. The brand highlights four "brain-building essentials" together: choline, DHA, folic acid and iron.

The allergen story is the specific thing One A Day emphasises. The bullets state the formula is free of seven major US food allergens, including egg, dairy, wheat, peanut and tree nuts. That's a useful shortlist to know if you're avoiding one of those in the household anyway.

The trade-off is compliance. Two pills a day is a bigger ask than one, and prenatal vitamins are a compliance product first. On a busy morning, taking one and forgetting the other means only half the formula gets in. If a partner is also taking a daily vitamin, the routine may stick more easily.

Pros:

  • Choline, DHA, folic acid and iron together
  • Free of 7 major US food allergens, per the brand
  • 60+60 combo covers a longer window than 60-count bottles
  • Both softgel and tablet included in one box
  • Iron included alongside DHA

Cons:

  • Two pills daily, higher compliance burden
  • Sells slower here than the top two picks
  • Bulkier package at 4.72 x 3.25 x 2.47 in

5. OLLY Prenatal Multivitamin Gummy — Best budget pick

A chewable raspberry-citrus gummy at the cheapest position here, for anyone who cannot face a softgel.

OLLY Prenatal Multivitamin gummy bottle — the chewable option at the cheapest position in this set

Best for: anyone who gags on softgels and needs a chewable option. Skip it if: you want DHA and iron included in the same pill.

OLLY is the cheapest of the five and the only chewable in the set. That is the whole pitch, and for the right buyer it is the right pitch. If nausea has made swallowing a softgel impossible, a raspberry-citrus gummy you can chew without water is not a compromise, it is the difference between taking the vitamin and skipping it. The brand states two gummies daily, chewed thoroughly.

The formula puts folic acid at the centre and adds vitamin A and vitamin D, with the D pitched as immune-system support during pregnancy per the bullets. What the specification list does not disclose here is a DHA dose or an iron level. That's the honest gap. If DHA and iron matter to you as pill-line items rather than food-line items, this is not the pick.

Supply is a 30-day one at two gummies daily, from a 60-count bottle. That is the shortest usable runway in the set alongside Ritual and Pink Stork.

Pros:

  • Chewable format needing no water
  • Cheapest position in this set
  • Folic acid, vitamin A and vitamin D included
  • Raspberry and citrus flavour blend
  • Sells briskly here, second only to the top two

Cons:

  • 30-day supply from a 60-count bottle
  • No DHA dose stated in the specifications
  • No iron level stated in the bullets

Softgel, capsule, tablet or gummy: which format wins?

Format decides adherence more than formula does, and adherence decides everything. Here's the trick with prenatal formats: the "best" one is the one you can take every day for nine months without dread.

  • Softgel (Nature Made). Small, slick, fish-oil-based. Bundles DHA with the rest. Downside: fish oil is a nausea trigger for some.
  • Nested capsule (Ritual). Vegan, with the brand's separated-solubility design. Downside: no long-supply option.
  • Vegan capsule (Pink Stork). Algae DHA, wide allergen exclusion. Downside: 60-count runway.
  • Softgel plus tablet (One A Day). Splits the nutrient load across two pills. Downside: two pills is two chances to forget.
  • Gummy (OLLY). Chewable, no water needed. Downside: DHA and iron are not stated on the specification list.

If nausea rules your first trimester, start with a chewable or a vegan capsule and revisit later. If it doesn't, a softgel is the most consolidated option.

How long does one bottle actually last?

Supply length matters more than the label suggests, because reordering is when routines break. Do the math from the count and the daily dose.

  1. Nature Made: 110-count bottle at 1 softgel daily is a 110-day supply. Longest here.
  2. One A Day: 60 softgels plus 60 tablets, taken one of each daily, is a 60-day supply.
  3. Ritual: 60-count bottle. Check the daily dose on the label.
  4. Pink Stork: 60-count bottle. Check the daily dose on the label.
  5. OLLY: 60-count bottle at 2 gummies daily is a 30-day supply.

The OLLY runway is the shortest, and Nature Made's is nearly four times longer. If you want to set and forget a subscription for a few months, that gap adds up.

What the listings do not tell you

Amazon listings for prenatals lean hard on hero ingredients. Here's what the bullets often leave out.

  • Iron dose. Some picks state iron in the formula narrative but not in the specification table. If you've been told to watch iron, the label on the bottle is the source of truth, not the bullets.
  • Daily dose. OLLY spells it out clearly. Others do not, and a 60-count bottle can be either a 60-day or a 30-day supply depending on the answer.
  • When to start. Several bullets mention "thinking, trying, and when it's time," but none state a phase-specific formulation difference in the specifications.
  • What "third-party tested" covers. Ritual and Pink Stork both use the phrase. Ritual names NSF; Pink Stork names a Clean Label Purity Award. They are not the same certification.
  • Interaction with other supplements. No listing here addresses stacking with a separate iron or DHA supplement. That's a question for your OBGYN, not the bullets.

Nature Made vs Ritual: which suits you?

These are the two picks most shoppers cross-shop, so it's worth putting them side by side.

Nature Made wins on supply and consolidation. One softgel, 110-day bottle, 200 mg DHA and all 8 B vitamins in one pill per the brand. If your priority is a mainstream, well-established prenatal you take once a day, this is the default.

Ritual wins on sourcing narrative and format. The bullets cite NSF verification, Non-GMO Project Verified status, and a nested capsule design. The formula is vegan, with Omega-3 DHA, Choline and Folate called out. The bottle is 60 count and sits at the most expensive position here.

The cutoff is roughly this: if you'd rather pay for traceability and a vegan capsule, Ritual. If you'd rather have a longer runway and a proven single-pill routine, Nature Made. Both include DHA. Neither is a wrong answer.

The verdict

Nature Made Prenatal Vitamins with Folic Acid + DHA is the winner. The reasons are concrete: a 110-day supply at one softgel daily, 200 mg DHA in the same pill as the multivitamin, all 8 B vitamins including biotin per the brand, and the second-cheapest position in this set. It is the pick that maximises the odds you keep taking it for nine months, which is the criterion that actually matters.

Two conditions flip it. First, if you cannot tolerate fish oil during pregnancy, Pink Stork Total Prenatal + DHA is the swap: same 200 mg DHA dose, but from algae, and with a wider allergen-exclusion list on the bullets. Second, if traceability and a vegan capsule outrank supply length in your priorities, Ritual Women's Prenatal Multivitamins is the pick. It sits at the most expensive position here, ships 60 count, and cites NSF verification alongside a nested capsule design the brand describes as separating fat- and water-soluble ingredients.

OLLY is the right pick only if softgels and capsules are off the table. One A Day is the right pick only if you're happy with a two-pill routine.

FAQ

Are prenatal vitamins for women different from a regular multivitamin?

Prenatal vitamins for women differ from a regular multivitamin on three specific fronts: folic acid content is higher to support neural tube development, DHA is often included for fetal brain and eye development, and iron levels are typically higher to meet pregnancy demands. Nature Made, Ritual and Pink Stork all foreground folate and DHA in their bullets, which is the pattern you're looking for.

Is a premium prenatal like Ritual worth it over Nature Made?

Whether a premium prenatal is worth it depends on what you value. Ritual sits at the most expensive position in this set and buys you NSF-cited third-party testing, Non-GMO Project verification, a vegan capsule, and the brand's nested capsule design. Nature Made buys you a 110-day supply, one-pill dosing, and 200 mg DHA in the same softgel. If sourcing narrative matters more than runway, pay up.

How much DHA should the best prenatal vitamins for women contain?

The best prenatal vitamins for women in this set state 200 mg DHA where they publish a figure. Nature Made lists 200 mg from fish oil. Pink Stork lists 200 mg from vegan algae. Ritual states DHA is included without a figure in the specifications. OLLY does not list a DHA dose. Ask your OBGYN what target dose fits your situation.

Can I take OLLY gummies instead of Nature Made softgels?

Taking OLLY gummies instead of Nature Made softgels is a real option if softgels trigger nausea. OLLY is the only chewable here, taken as two gummies daily, no water needed. The gap: OLLY does not list a DHA dose or an iron level in its specifications, while Nature Made states 200 mg DHA in the softgel. You may need a separate DHA supplement with OLLY.

What's the biggest mistake shoppers make picking a prenatal?

The biggest mistake shoppers make picking a prenatal is optimising for ingredient list length instead of adherence. A vitamin you skip half the week does less than a simpler formula you actually take daily. Format tolerance during nausea, pill count per day, and supply length per bottle decide adherence. Nature Made's 110-day one-softgel bottle wins on all three; OLLY's chewable wins if softgels are impossible.

Once you've picked a format you can live with, the next move is the boring one: order the bottle, set a phone reminder tied to breakfast, and stick with the same pick through at least the first trimester before you re-evaluate. Switching prenatals every three weeks because a friend recommended a different brand is the fastest way to end up with three half-empty bottles and no consistent intake. Nature Made is the default because it makes that discipline easiest: one pill, one bottle, 110 mornings covered. Everything above is a case for when the default doesn't fit you.

Last updated: September 9, 2026. Product availability re-checked.

This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.