Best Vegan Buffered Vitamin C by Dose and Capsule Count

Five buffered vitamin C supplements compared on dose, capsule count and buffering minerals, with a clear winner for daily use and a separate pick if you need 1,000 mg in one swallow.

Share

The best vegan buffered vitamin C for most people is the 365 by Whole Foods Market Buffered Vitamin C Complex, a 60-capsule bottle in vegetarian capsules that weighs just 1.6 oz and costs less than anything else in this set. If you'd rather cover the whole day in one swallow, the Integrative Therapeutics bottle puts 1,000 mg in each of its 60 vegan capsules instead.

This is not the category for you if you want a chewable, a gummy or a powder you stir into water. Everything here is a capsule or a tablet you swallow whole. It's also not the right shelf if you're chasing the highest possible dose per pill and nothing else, because two of these five deliberately hold the amount lower so you can take it more than once a day.

Best vegan buffered vitamin c at a glance

Pick Dose per unit Units per bottle Price
Best overall
365 by Whole Foods Market Buffered Vitamin C Complex
Not stated on listing 60 capsules Check Price
Best for families
Integrative Therapeutics Buffered Vitamin C 1,000 mg
1,000 mg claim 60 capsules Check Price
Most versatile
Country Life Vitamin C Buffered with Bioflavonoids
500 mg claim 250 tablets Check Price
Best upgrade
SOLARAY Super Bio Buffered Vitamin C 1000 mg Time Release
1,000 mg claim 250 VegCaps Check Price
Best premium
Pure Encapsulations Buffered Ascorbic Acid Capsules
Not stated on listing 90 capsules Check Price

How I screened these five listings

I started from what the listings publish and worked down. Every pick here had to say "buffered" on the label, because that word is the whole point of the category. Buffering means the ascorbic acid has been paired with alkaline minerals so the finished product sits closer to neutral pH.

Four of the five name the buffering minerals. Country Life lists calcium carbonate and magnesium oxide. Integrative Therapeutics names magnesium and calcium. SOLARAY says its base is calcium and magnesium. Pure Encapsulations goes furthest and lists three mineral ascorbates: calcium, magnesium and potassium.

The 365 bottle is the one that doesn't itemise its minerals. It calls itself a buffered complex with lemon bioflavonoids and leaves it there.

Then I cut on form. Nothing here is a gummy, a powder or a liquid, so the comparison stays honest: capsules against capsules, with one tablet in the mix. Everything left standing is either a vegetarian capsule, a vegan capsule, a VegCap or a certified vegan tablet.

Last, I ranked on what a buyer actually decides between. That's dose per unit and units per bottle, not brand story. Two picks stack the day into one capsule. Three don't.

Which vegan buffered vitamin c claim actually holds up?

Here's the honest part. Amazon's search for best vegan buffered vitamin c returns products with very different plant-based credentials, and the word "vegan" carries different weight on each label.

Country Life is the most explicit: the full title says "Certified Vegan" and "Certified Gluten Free". Integrative Therapeutics states "Vegan & Gluten-Free" in its own feature bullet, and adds that the formula contains no salt, wheat, gluten, soy, dairy or artificial colours or flavours. SOLARAY sells its capsules as VegCaps.

The 365 bottle says "Vegan" in the title and "vegetarian capsules" in the body copy. Those are two different words on the same label, and the listing doesn't reconcile them.

Pure Encapsulations is the gap. Its listing tells you what's left out (common allergens, artificial ingredients, GMOs) but the published title and bullets never use the word vegan at all.

So don't let me promise you five certified plant-based bottles, because the data doesn't. If a vegan capsule shell is non-negotiable for you, check the current label image and the ingredient panel on the listing itself before you buy. A capsule shell can be plant cellulose or gelatin, and that single line decides it.

1. 365 by Whole Foods Market Buffered Vitamin C Complex — Best overall

A cheap, small, vegetarian-capsule bottle that does the ordinary job without asking you to commit to a 250-count jar.

365 by Whole Foods Market buffered vitamin C complex bottle, 60 vegetarian capsules — the smallest and cheapest bottle in this comparison

Best for: a daily maintenance dose in a vegetarian capsule, at the lowest cost in this set Skip it if: you want 1,000 mg in a single capsule

This is the cheapest of the five and the lightest by a wide margin. The bottle weighs 1.6 oz and measures 3.35 x 1.78 x 1.75 in, which is roughly half the shipped weight of the Integrative Therapeutics bottle with the same 60-count capacity. That tells you something about the capsule size before you open it.

What makes it the default is restraint. Whole Foods describes it as a buffered vitamin C complex with lemon bioflavonoids, and it calls the buffered form gentler. Bioflavonoids are plant compounds that often appear alongside vitamin C in whole-food style formulas, and two other picks here include them too.

The listing dates from 2017, so this is a settled formula rather than a new arrival. Only two sellers list it, which is typical across this whole set.

The trade-off is disclosure. Every other pick either names its dose or names its buffering minerals, and this one publishes neither in the fields I have. You're trusting the brand's word that "buffered complex" means what it means elsewhere on this list.

Pros:

  • Cheapest of the five picks here
  • Lightest bottle at 1.6 oz
  • Vegetarian capsules stated in the listing
  • Includes lemon bioflavonoids alongside the vitamin C
  • Smallest footprint at 3.35 x 1.78 x 1.75 in

Cons:

  • Listing publishes no milligram figure per capsule
  • Buffering minerals are never named
  • 60 capsules is the joint-smallest bottle here
  • No stated warranty or guarantee in the listing

2. Integrative Therapeutics Buffered Vitamin C 1,000 mg — Best for families

One capsule, 1,000 mg claimed, and the clearest allergen exclusion list of any pick here.

Integrative Therapeutics buffered vitamin C 1,000 mg bottle, 60 vegan capsules — the only pick that names both its dose and its allergen exclusions

Best for: households that want one capsule to cover the day, with a short ingredient story Skip it if: you split doses or want a smaller amount per capsule

This is the second-cheapest pick and the one buyers choose most often in this group. It's also the most straightforward: the brand says each capsule provides 1,000 mg of vitamin C, buffered with magnesium and calcium.

The 60 vegan capsules weigh 3.52 oz in a 4.02 x 2.02 x 2.02 in bottle. Compare that to the 365 bottle, which holds the same 60 capsules at 1.6 oz. The extra ounce and a half is the dose showing up as physical mass.

The allergen list is where it separates itself. Integrative Therapeutics states no salt, wheat, gluten, soy, dairy, artificial colours or flavours, plus vegan and gluten-free. That's the tightest exclusion list published across these five, which matters if more than one person in the house is reading labels. The brand also claims over 25 years of clinician trust and describes the formula as well tolerated.

The catch is flexibility. At 1,000 mg per capsule you can't easily take half, and 60 capsules at one a day is a two-month bottle rather than a stock-up.

Pros:

  • 1,000 mg per capsule claim, the joint-highest here
  • Buffered with named magnesium and calcium
  • Vegan and gluten-free stated on the listing
  • No salt, wheat, soy or dairy per the brand
  • Sells faster than the rest of this set

Cons:

  • 1,000 mg per capsule leaves no room to take less
  • Only 60 capsules, the joint-smallest bottle here
  • Heavier than the 365 bottle at the same count
  • Brand's "well-tolerated" phrasing is a claim, not a measurement

3. Country Life Vitamin C Buffered with Bioflavonoids — Most versatile

A 250-tablet jar at 500 mg per tablet, which is the only pick that lets you dial the dose up or down.

Country Life buffered vitamin C with bioflavonoids, 250 certified vegan tablets — the only pick offering 500 mg units for split dosing

Best for: flexible dosing across 250 tablets, and anyone who wants certified vegan on the label Skip it if: you cannot swallow tablets

This is the pick I'd hand to someone who doesn't know their dose yet. At 500 mg per tablet you can take one, or two for 1,000 mg, and the 250-count jar means either pattern lasts a long time. That's the versatility.

It's also the most explicit vegan claim in the set. The full title carries both "Certified Gluten Free" and "Certified Vegan", which is a certification rather than a self-description.

Country Life names its buffering agents precisely: natural alkaline calcium carbonate and magnesium oxide, prepared to neutralise the excess acidity of vitamin C. That's the mechanism stated in plain terms, and it's the same principle SOLARAY and Integrative Therapeutics use.

The jar is the heaviest thing here at 1.1 lb, in a 5 x 2.8 x 2.8 in bottle. It sits mid-range for price in this group, which is remarkable for 250 units.

Two real drawbacks. It's a tablet, not a capsule, and tablets are generally harder to swallow and can't be opened into food. It's also the slowest seller of the five by a wide margin, so it's the least-chosen pick on this list.

Pros:

  • 250 tablets, the joint-largest bottle here
  • 500 mg per tablet allows split or doubled dosing
  • Certified vegan and certified gluten free
  • Names calcium carbonate and magnesium oxide as buffers
  • Mid-range price for the largest unit count

Cons:

  • Tablet form is harder to swallow than a capsule
  • Heaviest bottle in the set at 1.1 lb
  • Slowest seller of the five picks
  • No model number published on the listing

4. SOLARAY Super Bio Buffered Vitamin C 1000 mg Time Release — Best upgrade

The only pick that releases its 1,000 mg in two stages instead of all at once.

SOLARAY Super Bio buffered vitamin C 1000 mg bottle, 250 time-release VegCaps — the only two-stage release formula in this comparison

Best for: spreading 1,000 mg across the day from a 250-capsule bottle Skip it if: you want the simplest possible label

Time release is the feature nobody else here offers. SOLARAY says the two-stage capsules release half the vitamin C rapidly and the other half gradually through the day, which the brand suggests may help extend its effect. Treat that as the manufacturer's claim, because it is one.

The specification sheet is the strongest reason to look. You get 250 VegCaps at a claimed 1,000 mg each, which is the highest published dose paired with the largest count in this set. The bottle runs 0.68 lb in a 6.2 x 3.2 x 3.2 in package, the tallest here.

The formula is also the busiest. SOLARAY says the complex supplies ascorbic acid plus rose hips and acerola, with a bioflavonoid concentrate, on a base of calcium and magnesium for the buffering. Rose hips and acerola are both fruit sources of vitamin C. The brand adds that the bottles use post-consumer recycled resin.

It sits in the most expensive tier alongside Pure Encapsulations, though not at the very top of the price order.

The trade-offs are the crowded label and the height. If you want to know exactly what you're taking and nothing more, this isn't that bottle, and 6.2 in won't sit under a low shelf.

Pros:

  • Only two-stage time-release formula in this set
  • 250 VegCaps at 1,000 mg claimed per capsule
  • Includes rose hips, acerola and bioflavonoid concentrate
  • Calcium and magnesium base named as buffers
  • Bottle made from post-consumer recycled resin

Cons:

  • Time-release benefit is a manufacturer claim only
  • Tallest bottle here at 6.2 in
  • Busiest ingredient list of the five
  • Premium price position without a stated warranty

5. Pure Encapsulations Buffered Ascorbic Acid Capsules — Best premium

Three mineral ascorbates for a neutral pH, aimed squarely at people whose stomachs object to plain vitamin C.

Pure Encapsulations buffered ascorbic acid capsules, 90-count bottle — the only pick buffered with three separate mineral ascorbates

Best for: sensitive stomachs and multi-mineral buffering Skip it if: you want the most capsules per bottle

This is the most expensive pick here, and the buffering is where the money goes. Pure Encapsulations combines calcium ascorbate, magnesium ascorbate and potassium ascorbate to make what it calls a neutral pH vitamin C. Three mineral forms is more than any other pick on this list names, all of which stop at two.

The brand states plainly that this special form of ascorbic acid lessens possible gastric irritation in sensitive individuals. That's an attributed claim, not a measured result, but it's also the clearest statement of purpose across these five listings.

The bottle holds 90 capsules at 4.8 oz, in a 2.5 x 4.49 x 2.52 in package. That 90-count sits between the 60-capsule bottles and the 250-count jars, which is a sensible middle if you don't want to commit to eight months of one formula.

Pure also states its products are free from common allergens, artificial ingredients and GMOs, and that they're tested for potency and purity.

Two honest problems. The listing never says how many milligrams a capsule contains, which is a strange omission at this price. And the published title and bullets never use the word vegan, so the capsule shell is unconfirmed from the data I have.

Pros:

  • Three mineral ascorbates: calcium, magnesium, potassium
  • Brand states neutral pH formulation
  • 90 capsules sits between the small and jumbo bottles
  • Free from common allergens and GMOs per the brand
  • Compact 2.5 x 4.49 x 2.52 in bottle

Cons:

  • Most expensive pick in this set
  • No milligram figure published per capsule
  • Listing never states vegan or vegetarian capsule shell
  • Fewest capsules per dollar of the premium pair

How long does one bottle last?

This is the calculation most shoppers skip, and it changes the ranking more than any feature bullet does. Work it out before you buy.

  1. Decide your daily amount. If it's 1,000 mg, the Integrative Therapeutics capsule and the SOLARAY VegCap each cover it in one unit. Country Life needs two of its 500 mg tablets.
  2. Divide the bottle count by your units per day. 60 capsules at one a day is two months. 250 tablets at two a day is 125 days. 250 VegCaps at one a day is over eight months.
  3. Check the shelf life you're comfortable with. An eight-month bottle is only a bargain if you'll finish it.

The 90-capsule Pure Encapsulations bottle lands in the middle, at three months on a single daily capsule.

Here's the part worth noticing. The two picks with 250 units are also the two picks in the mid and premium tiers, while the two 60-count bottles are the cheapest. So the cheapest bottle is not the cheapest supply, and the most expensive bottle here holds 90 capsules rather than 250. If total cost per capsule matters to you, the SOLARAY and Country Life jars are where the arithmetic tends to land, and the Check Price links will confirm it in seconds.

Buffered, time-release or plain: what changes?

Buffered vitamin C is ascorbic acid combined with alkaline minerals. Plain ascorbic acid is acidic, which is why some people report stomach discomfort on higher doses. The minerals raise the pH toward neutral.

Three levels of buffering appear in this set:

  • Two minerals. Integrative Therapeutics (magnesium, calcium), Country Life (calcium carbonate, magnesium oxide) and SOLARAY (calcium, magnesium base) all use a pair.
  • Three minerals. Pure Encapsulations adds potassium ascorbate to calcium and magnesium ascorbate.
  • Unspecified. The 365 bottle says buffered but doesn't name the minerals.

Time release is a separate mechanism entirely. SOLARAY is the only pick that uses it, splitting the release into a fast half and a gradual half. Buffering changes the acidity; time release changes the timing. A product can do one, both or neither.

Bioflavonoids show up on three labels. The 365 complex includes lemon bioflavonoids, Country Life names bioflavonoids in its title, and SOLARAY includes a bioflavonoid concentrate alongside rose hips and acerola. Integrative Therapeutics and Pure Encapsulations keep the formula narrower.

None of this is a medical recommendation. If your stomach is the reason you're shopping for best vegan buffered vitamin c, talk to a clinician about the right amount for you first.

What the listings do not tell you

Four blanks matter here, and knowing them stops you overpaying for information you assumed you were getting.

  • Two picks don't publish a dose. The 365 complex and the Pure Encapsulations bottle both describe the form without stating milligrams per capsule in the data I have. Every buying decision starts with dose, so read the current label panel on the listing.
  • Nobody publishes a warranty. Not one of these five states a guarantee or return term. Treat them all equally on that front.
  • Only two sellers list each product. Every single pick shows two sellers, so there's no meaningful stocking difference between them.
  • Capsule shell material is mostly implied. "Vegetarian capsules", "vegan capsules" and "VegCaps" all appear, but the source material behind each phrase isn't spelled out.

One more thing. The 365 bottle is the only pick with a published release year, 2017, so it's the only one where you can tell how long the formula has been on the shelf. That's not a flaw in the others, but it's a data point you only get once here.

The verdict

If you want a simple daily habit and the lowest cost of entry, the 365 by Whole Foods Market Buffered Vitamin C Complex is the pick. It's the cheapest of the five, the lightest at 1.6 oz, and it does the one job a buffered vitamin C is meant to do without a crowded label. Sixty vegetarian capsules is a two-month bottle at one a day, which is enough to find out whether the buffered form suits you.

If you're buying for the long haul and want 1,000 mg claimed in a single unit, the SOLARAY Super Bio Buffered Vitamin C 1000 mg Time Release is the better buy. Its 250 VegCaps and two-stage release are both unique in this group, and no other pick pairs the highest claimed dose with the largest count.

The cutoff is 90 units. Below that, you're buying a trial bottle and the cheapest option wins on principle. Above it, you're committing to one formula for months, and the extra specification detail on the SOLARAY and Country Life labels earns its keep.

Two conditions flip this. If a certified vegan mark is required, Country Life is the only pick carrying it in the title. If gastric sensitivity is the whole reason you're here, Pure Encapsulations names three mineral ascorbates and a neutral pH, more than anyone else states.

FAQ

Is vegan buffered vitamin C worth paying more for?

Vegan buffered vitamin C is worth the premium only if plain ascorbic acid bothers your stomach or a plant-based capsule is non-negotiable. Buffering adds alkaline minerals to raise the pH toward neutral. If you already take vitamin C without any discomfort, the cheapest bottle here, the 365 complex at 60 capsules, gives you the same buffered form for the least outlay.

How do the best vegan buffered vitamin C options compare on cost per capsule?

The best vegan buffered vitamin C options split cleanly on unit count. The 365 and Integrative Therapeutics bottles hold 60 capsules each and sit in the cheapest tier. Country Life and SOLARAY hold 250 units each at mid and premium prices. Pure Encapsulations holds 90 at the highest price. Divide the live figure by the count using the Check Price links to compare properly.

Which is better, Integrative Therapeutics or SOLARAY?

Choosing between Integrative Therapeutics and SOLARAY comes down to bottle size and release timing. Both claim 1,000 mg per unit. Integrative Therapeutics gives you 60 vegan capsules with the tightest allergen exclusion list here, and it's cheaper. SOLARAY gives you 250 VegCaps with a two-stage time-release design plus rose hips and acerola. Pick SOLARAY for supply, Integrative Therapeutics for a shorter label.

What does buffered actually mean on a vitamin C label?

Buffered actually means the ascorbic acid has been paired with alkaline minerals to reduce its acidity. Country Life names calcium carbonate and magnesium oxide. Pure Encapsulations combines calcium, magnesium and potassium ascorbate for what it calls a neutral pH. SOLARAY and Integrative Therapeutics both use a calcium and magnesium base. The 365 bottle says buffered without naming the minerals.

What is the most common mistake when buying buffered vitamin C?

The most common mistake when buying is choosing on dose per capsule alone. A 1,000 mg capsule can't be halved, so it locks your daily amount. Country Life's 500 mg tablets let you take one or two, which is far more useful if you're still finding what suits you. Check the unit count and the dose together, not separately.

Start with the 365 by Whole Foods Market bottle if you haven't taken a buffered formula before. Sixty capsules is a short enough commitment to tell you whether the gentler form makes any difference to you, and it costs the least of anything on this list to find out. If it does work, then step up to a 250-count jar and stop paying twice. That's the sequence I'd follow: prove the form suits you first, buy the supply second. The one thing worth doing before you click is opening the current label image and confirming the capsule shell says what you need it to say.

Last updated: September 16, 2026. Product availability re-checked.

This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.