> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://aiimne.org/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Best Unflavored Vitamin C: Kirkman Buffered Wins
- URL: https://aiimne.org/best-unflavored-vitamin-c/
- Published: 2026-09-07T06:29:52.000Z
- Updated: 2026-09-07T09:49:15.000Z
- Description: Five vitamin C powders ranked by dose, buffering and bulk value. Kirkman leads for sensitive stomachs; Nutricost and Micro Ingredients handle the daily gram.
- Author: Harley Griffiths
- Tags: Vitamins, Supplements, Vitamin C

The best unflavored vitamin C is Kirkman Buffered Vitamin C Powder, a 7 oz tub delivering 1,100 mg per serving in a buffered formulation that's gentler on the stomach than straight ascorbic acid. If you want a plain, single-ingredient powder in a larger tub, Nutricost Ascorbic Acid Powder covers a 2 lb supply at 1 g per scoop. Five picks, one clear cutoff: buffered or straight.

Here's who this guide is not for. If you want a chewable tablet, an effervescent tab, or a rose-hip complex, you're in a different aisle. Every product below is a loose powder you scoop into water, juice, a smoothie or a DIY skincare mix. That format wins on flexible dosing and cost per gram, but it asks you to own a measuring scoop, keep the tub sealed against humidity, and accept that the taste of vitamin C is sharply sour by nature.

In this guide
1. [Best unflavored vitamin C at a glance](#best-unflavored-vitamin-c-at-a-glance)
2. [How I narrowed the field to five powders](#how-i-narrowed-the-field-to-five-powders)
3. [1\. Kirkman Buffered Vitamin C Powder — Best overall](#1-kirkman-buffered-vitamin-c-powder-%E2%80%94-best-overall)
4. [2\. Nutricost Ascorbic Acid Powder — Best premium](#2-nutricost-ascorbic-acid-powder-%E2%80%94-best-premium)
5. [3\. Micro Ingredients Vitamin C Powder — Best upgrade](#3-micro-ingredients-vitamin-c-powder-%E2%80%94-best-upgrade)
6. [4\. It's Just! - Vitamin C Powder — Most versatile](#4-its-justvitamin-c-powder-%E2%80%94-most-versatile)
7. [5\. PURE ORIGINAL INGREDIENTS Vitamin C Powder — Best budget pick](#5-pure-original-ingredients-vitamin-c-powder-%E2%80%94-best-budget-pick)
8. [Buffered ascorbic acid or straight: which do you need?](#buffered-ascorbic-acid-or-straight-which-do-you-need)
9. [About that word unflavored](#about-that-word-unflavored)
10. [How long does a tub actually last?](#how-long-does-a-tub-actually-last)
11. [What to check on the label before you buy](#what-to-check-on-the-label-before-you-buy)
12. [The verdict](#the-verdict)
13. [FAQ](#faq)

## Best unflavored vitamin C at a glance

| Pick                                                                                                                 | Dose per serving  | Tub size | Price                                                             |
| -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------- | -------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------- |
| **Best overall**[Kirkman Buffered Vitamin C Powder](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00P8DWARK?tag=aiimne-20)              | 1,100 mg buffered | 7 oz     | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00P8DWARK?tag=aiimne-20) |
| **Best premium**[Nutricost Ascorbic Acid Powder](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZVNCXOM?tag=aiimne-20)                 | 1,000 mg claim    | 32.4 oz  | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZVNCXOM?tag=aiimne-20) |
| **Best upgrade**[Micro Ingredients Vitamin C Powder](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HFOJBG2?tag=aiimne-20)             | 1,000 mg claim    | 35.2 oz  | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HFOJBG2?tag=aiimne-20) |
| **Most versatile**[It's Just! Vitamin C Powder](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07XFHGRWJ?tag=aiimne-20)                  | 1,000 mg claim    | 11 oz    | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07XFHGRWJ?tag=aiimne-20) |
| **Best budget pick**[PURE ORIGINAL INGREDIENTS Vitamin C Powder](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07663FG95?tag=aiimne-20) | Not listed        | 16 oz    | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07663FG95?tag=aiimne-20) |

## How I narrowed the field to five powders

The category is bigger than five, so the first job was cutting. Three criteria did most of the work, weighted in this order: powder format, unflavored positioning, and the dose the manufacturer states per serving.

Powder format came first because it is the whole point of the category. Chewables, gummies, effervescent tabs and rose-hip blends were out. What survives is loose vitamin C you measure yourself, either as L-ascorbic acid or as a buffered form.

The unflavored qualifier is where the honest asterisk lives, and it needs saying up front. Amazon's search returned results that don't strictly meet the modifier: Kirkman's own listing describes the powder as sweetened with stevia and carrying a passion fruit note, so it isn't truly flavor-free. Four of the five picks are single-ingredient ascorbic acid, which is unflavored in the sense that nothing has been added, though ascorbic acid itself tastes distinctly sour. That is as close to unflavored as this shelf gets, and I've matched picks to what buyers actually mean when they type the phrase: no sweeteners, no fruit, no cover-ups. Read the section below on that word before you commit.

Third, the dose. Four of the five state a per-serving figure, from 1,000 mg to 1,100 mg. The one that doesn't ([PURE ORIGINAL INGREDIENTS](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07663FG95?tag=aiimne-20)) still made the cut on price position and single-ingredient purity, but the missing figure is a real gap and it's why it lands last.

What got cut:

- Any capsule or tablet, because a capsule is not a powder.
- Any blend with rose hips, bioflavonoids, zinc or elderberry, because the search is for vitamin C, not a stack.
- Any listing without a per-serving dose or a stated tub weight, unless another spec compensated.

## 1\. Kirkman Buffered Vitamin C Powder — Best overall

**Kirkman wins because it's the only pick that buffers the ascorbic acid, which matters more than the label size when you take it every day.**

[![Kirkman Buffered Vitamin C Powder tub — the only buffered formula in this set](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/31ol5YXK4AL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00P8DWARK?tag=aiimne-20)

**Best for:** sensitive stomachs that want a buffered daily gram of the best unflavored vitamin C available on this shelf. **Skip it if:** you want a powder with zero added ingredients.

Straight ascorbic acid is acidic by definition, and a daily gram on an empty stomach is a common reason people quit vitamin C powders. Buffering pairs the ascorbate with a mineral base to lift the pH, and Kirkman is the only pick in this set that does it. The serving is 1,100 mg, the highest stated dose here, and the tub is 7 oz in a 3.94 x 2.88 x 2.88 in footprint that fits any cupboard. Kirkman says the formula is free of milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soy and sesame, which covers the nine most common allergens. The trade-offs are real: the listing describes the powder as sweetened with stevia leaf extract with a passion fruit note, so it isn't strictly unflavored, and at 7 oz it's the smallest tub of the five. It also sits in the most expensive price position of the group. If your daily gram has been bothering you, the buffered form is worth it. If it hasn't, one of the plain ascorbic acid picks will stretch further.

**Pros:**

- Only buffered formula in this set
- Highest stated dose at 1,100 mg
- Free of nine major allergens per manufacturer
- Compact 3.94 x 2.88 x 2.88 in tub
- Includes an antioxidant and collagen support claim

**Cons:**

- Sweetened with stevia, not strictly unflavored
- Smallest tub at 7 oz
- Most expensive position in the set

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00P8DWARK?tag=aiimne-20)

## 2\. Nutricost Ascorbic Acid Powder — Best premium

**Nutricost is the daily driver: a 2 lb tub of plain ascorbic acid at 1 g per included scoop, made in an NSF-certified facility.**

[![Nutricost Ascorbic Acid Powder 2 lb bottle — the third-party tested pick](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41LElOSoY+L._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZVNCXOM?tag=aiimne-20)

**Best for:** daily users who want third-party testing on a 2 lb tub. **Skip it if:** you only need a few months' supply.

Nutricost is the pick I'd hand a friend who wants the plainest possible answer to the vitamin C question. The listing describes it as pure powder with no binders or fillers, 1 g per serving, third-party tested, and produced in a facility that Nutricost says is NSF certified, GMP compliant and FDA registered. That's a stack of claims worth checking, but they're claims the other single-ingredient picks in this set don't all make. The tub weighs 2 lb (32.4 oz), which at a gram a day works out to a very long supply. A scoop is included, which sounds trivial until you compare it with the budget pick further down, where no scoop or serving size is stated at all. Where it loses ground: it's the highest-priced position of the five, and it's not buffered, so if plain ascorbic acid has upset your stomach in the past, Kirkman is the better call. It also outsells everything except the budget pick, which is what you'd expect from a plain, well-labelled 2 lb tub.

**Pros:**

- 2 lb tub with a stated 1 g scoop
- Listing cites third-party testing
- Made in NSF-certified, GMP-compliant facility per brand
- No binders or fillers claim
- Single-ingredient ascorbic acid

**Cons:**

- Highest price position in the set
- Not buffered
- Bottle lid colour varies per listing note

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZVNCXOM?tag=aiimne-20)

## 3\. Micro Ingredients Vitamin C Powder — Best upgrade

**Micro Ingredients gives you the biggest tub in the set, 2.2 lb in a pouch, at 1,000 mg per serving with the scoop in the bag.**

[![Micro Ingredients Vitamin C Powder 2.2 lb pouch — the largest tub here](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41fzTzgKfBL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HFOJBG2?tag=aiimne-20)

**Best for:** households sharing one tub for a year. **Skip it if:** you prefer a bottle to a pouch.

If you're buying vitamin C for two adults, or you dose more than a gram some days, the arithmetic favours the largest package. Micro Ingredients is 35.2 oz (2.2 lb), the biggest here, and the brand states 1,000 mg per serving with 1,000 servings per pouch. That's the highest count of servings in this set by a clear margin. Micro Ingredients says the powder contains no GMOs, no irradiation, no additives, no preservatives, no artificial colors, no gluten, no soy, no dairy and no tree nuts, which is the longest exclusions list of the five. Two things push it into the "upgrade" slot rather than the top. First, the pouch format: it's a resealable bag rather than the bottles the other picks use, which some buyers prefer and others don't. Second, sales rank on this listing is the slowest-moving of the set, which usually just tracks price on bulk items but is worth noting. Sits in a mid price position between the entry-tier picks and the two premium tubs.

**Pros:**

- Largest tub at 2.2 lb
- 1,000 stated servings per pouch
- Scoop included per manufacturer
- Long no-additives claim list
- Mid price position rather than premium

**Cons:**

- Pouch format rather than a rigid tub
- Not buffered
- Slowest-moving listing in this set

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HFOJBG2?tag=aiimne-20)

## 4\. It's Just! - Vitamin C Powder — Most versatile

**It's Just! is the food-grade pick, which is what you want if the powder is going into cooking, canning or a DIY serum as well as a glass.**

[![It's Just! Vitamin C Powder 11 oz jar — the food-grade pick](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41lEHL0eXiL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07XFHGRWJ?tag=aiimne-20)

**Best for:** cooks and DIY skincare users who need food-grade powder. **Skip it if:** you want a two-pound bulk tub.

The listing calls it 100% L-Ascorbic Acid, food grade, 1,000 mg per serving, non-GMO, made in the USA at a GMP-compliant facility. Food grade is the phrase that earns the versatility label. Ascorbic acid is a common browning-preventer for cut fruit, a pH tweak for home canning, and an active in vitamin C serums that hobbyists mix at home. If any of that is on your list alongside a morning drink, this is the tub that covers all of it. At 11 oz (0.69 lb) it splits the difference between Kirkman's 7 oz and the two 2 lb picks: enough for a real supply, small enough that a single user finishes it before humidity dulls the powder. Where it loses out is scale: dedicated daily dosers finish 11 oz faster than they'd like, and the price per gram doesn't beat Micro Ingredients on the pouch. Sits in an entry price position, second-cheapest of the five.

**Pros:**

- Explicitly food grade on the listing
- 1,000 mg per serving stated
- Non-GMO, made in USA per brand
- Middle-ground 11 oz size
- Entry price position

**Cons:**

- Smaller than the two bulk picks
- Not buffered
- No stated scoop in the specs

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07XFHGRWJ?tag=aiimne-20)

## 5\. PURE ORIGINAL INGREDIENTS Vitamin C Powder — Best budget pick

**The cheapest of the five, a 1 lb single-ingredient ascorbic acid powder for buyers who just want a plain tub to test the routine.**

[![PURE ORIGINAL INGREDIENTS Vitamin C Powder 1 lb jar — the entry-price pick](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41v3n3mSLsL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07663FG95?tag=aiimne-20)

**Best for:** first-time buyers testing a plain ascorbic acid routine. **Skip it if:** you need a scoop or a stated serving size.

PURE ORIGINAL INGREDIENTS is the pick for anyone who wants to try a vitamin C powder without committing to a 2 lb tub or a premium buffered formula. The brand describes it as a single-ingredient supplement, no additives or fillers, easily soluble, and notes it dissolves into lotions and creams too. The tub is 16 oz (1 lb), which is a sensible starter size, and it sits in the cheapest price position of the five. This is also the one buyers choose most often in this set, which fits an entry-price single-ingredient tub. Now the honest part. The listing does not state a serving size, does not state a per-serving dose, and does not mention an included scoop. If you're happy to buy a kitchen scale or a 1/4 tsp measure and weigh 1 g yourself, that's fine. If you want the label to do the arithmetic, one of the other four is a better call. Not buffered.

**Pros:**

- Cheapest position of the five
- Single-ingredient ascorbic acid
- Sensible 1 lb starter size
- Listing notes solubility in creams and lotions
- The one buyers choose most often here

**Cons:**

- No stated per-serving dose
- No scoop mentioned in the listing
- No stated third-party testing
- Not buffered

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07663FG95?tag=aiimne-20)

## Buffered ascorbic acid or straight: which do you need?

This is the deciding question, and most buyers get it backwards.

Straight ascorbic acid is a strong organic acid. In a full glass of water it's diluted enough that most people tolerate it fine, but on an empty stomach, in a small sip, or at doses above 1 g, it can prompt reflux, a burning throat, or loose stools. Buffered vitamin C pairs the ascorbate with a mineral base (calcium, magnesium or sodium ascorbate is typical) to raise the pH toward neutral. Same active nutrient, gentler delivery.

The rule of thumb:

- If you've tolerated a daily gram of straight ascorbic acid for years, keep going. Nutricost, Micro Ingredients, It's Just! and PURE ORIGINAL INGREDIENTS are all plain ascorbic acid.
- If you're new to daily dosing, or you've had stomach trouble on tablets, start with the buffered form. Kirkman is the only buffered pick in this set.
- If you're mixing the powder into a DIY skincare serum, straight L-ascorbic acid is what most home formulas call for. Buffered isn't a substitute there.

## About that word unflavored

Worth a straight answer, because the search returned mixed results.

Kirkman's listing describes the powder as sweetened with stevia leaf extract with a passion fruit note. That's flavored, mildly, and the brand is upfront about it. The other four picks are single-ingredient L-ascorbic acid, which technically has no added flavor. What it does have is a sharp, sour taste, the same tang you get from a lemon, because ascorbic acid is the acid in citrus.

So when a shopper searches for the best unflavored vitamin C, they usually mean one of two things:

1. No added sweeteners, dyes, or fruit flavours. Four of the five picks meet this.
2. Something that tastes like nothing when mixed with water. Nothing in this set meets that, and no plain vitamin C powder ever will.

Mixing a 1 g scoop into a full glass of juice, a smoothie, or a mug of hot water with honey drowns the sour note completely. Mixing it into plain water does not.

## How long does a tub actually last?

Rough arithmetic, using the stated servings on each listing. At 1 g a day for one adult:

1. Micro Ingredients: 1,000 servings per 2.2 lb pouch, close to three years for a single user.
2. Nutricost: 2 lb tub, roughly two years for a solo daily dose.
3. PURE ORIGINAL INGREDIENTS: 1 lb tub, about a year at 1 g a day.
4. It's Just!: 11 oz, several months of daily use.
5. Kirkman: 7 oz at 1,100 mg per serving, a few months.

Humidity is the enemy of ascorbic acid powder. It clumps and loses potency when the tub sits open in a bathroom or above a kettle. Keep the lid tight, keep the scoop dry, and store it in a cupboard away from steam. A 2 lb tub is only a bargain if you'll finish it before it cakes.

## What to check on the label before you buy

Six things I'd read before adding any vitamin C powder to a cart, in this order:

- **Serving size in grams or milligrams**, stated on the listing. Four of five picks here do this. PURE ORIGINAL INGREDIENTS does not.
- **Whether a scoop is included.** Nutricost and Micro Ingredients say yes. Weighing 1 g of powder without one is fiddly.
- **Buffered or ascorbic acid.** Kirkman is buffered; the other four are plain.
- **Third-party testing.** Nutricost's listing cites it directly.
- **Facility standards.** Nutricost cites NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered. It's Just! cites GMP-compliant.
- **Allergen exclusions.** Kirkman covers nine allergens; Micro Ingredients lists a long no-added list. If you have a specific allergy, read the listing yourself before buying.

None of the five publishes a warranty, because supplement powders don't carry one in the way electronics do.

## The verdict

Kirkman Buffered Vitamin C Powder is the best unflavored vitamin C for most daily users, and the buffered formula is why. A 1,100 mg dose is the highest stated in this set, and the mineral buffering handles the one problem that makes people quit vitamin C powders, which is a sour stomach at breakfast. The trade-off is honest: it's the smallest tub, it's the most expensive position here, and it isn't strictly unflavored because Kirkman adds stevia and a passion fruit note.

If you've tolerated plain ascorbic acid for years and want the longest supply on the shelf, Nutricost Ascorbic Acid Powder is the pick. Its edge is the third-party testing claim and the NSF-certified facility on the listing, paired with a 2 lb tub and an included scoop that spells out 1 g per serving.

The cutoff is stomach tolerance. Below it, buffered. Above it, plain. The other three picks slot in around specific jobs: Micro Ingredients for the biggest pouch, It's Just! for food-grade versatility, PURE ORIGINAL INGREDIENTS for a cheap first tub.

## FAQ

### Is unflavored vitamin C worth it over a flavored tablet?

Is unflavored vitamin C worth the switch depends on how you take it. A powder lets you dose 500 mg or 2 g without buying two products, and it costs less per gram than a chewable tablet in almost every case. The trade-off is you have to mix it into something and own a scoop. If dosing flexibility and cost matter, yes.

### Which of these picks is the best unflavored vitamin C for a sensitive stomach?

The best unflavored vitamin C for a sensitive stomach in this set is Kirkman Buffered Vitamin C Powder. It's the only pick that buffers the ascorbic acid with a mineral base, which lifts the pH and eases the burn that a straight ascorbic acid gram can cause on an empty stomach. The trade-off is a small 7 oz tub and stevia sweetening.

### Nutricost or Micro Ingredients for a two-person household?

Nutricost or Micro Ingredients both work for two adults, but the deciding spec is format. Nutricost is a 2 lb bottle with a stated 1 g scoop and a third-party testing claim. Micro Ingredients is a 2.2 lb pouch with 1,000 stated servings. Bottle sleepers pick Nutricost. Pouch buyers who want the biggest tub in the set pick Micro Ingredients.

### Can I use these powders in a homemade vitamin C serum?

Can I use these powders in DIY skincare is a fair question because ascorbic acid is what most home serum recipes call for. Yes, provided the powder is plain L-ascorbic acid. It's Just! explicitly says food grade on the listing and is the strongest match for that job. Kirkman's buffered, sweetened formula is not suited to a serum.

### What is a typical daily dose from an unflavored vitamin C powder?

A typical daily dose from these powders sits at 1,000 mg per serving, which is what Nutricost, Micro Ingredients and It's Just! list, and 1,100 mg per serving for Kirkman. Adjust to your own needs and any guidance from your clinician. A kitchen scale or the included scoop is the honest way to measure, because 1 g of loose powder is easy to eyeball wrong.

Kirkman Buffered Vitamin C Powder is where I'd start, and here's the practical reason. Every other pick in this set forces you to find out whether a daily gram of straight ascorbic acid agrees with your stomach, and the answer sometimes shows up two weeks in, after you've bought a two-pound tub. A 7 oz buffered tub is a short, honest trial. If it agrees with you and you want to save money per gram, step up to Nutricost or Micro Ingredients next time. If the buffered form is the difference between taking it every day and forgetting the tub in a cupboard, you already have the answer, and the smaller tub was worth it.

*Last updated: September 9, 2026\. Product availability re-checked.*

*This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.*