> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://aiimne.org/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Best Magnesium Glycinate for a Lifter's Nightly Dose
- URL: https://aiimne.org/best-glycinate-magnesium-muscle-recovery/
- Published: 2026-09-07T07:23:10.000Z
- Updated: 2026-09-07T09:49:15.000Z
- Description: Dose per capsule and bottle count decide this category, not the label promises. Here's how six magnesium glycinate bottles compare, and which one fits a lifter's nightly routine.
- Author: Harley Griffiths
- Tags: Vitamins, Supplements, Minerals

The best glycinate magnesium for muscle recovery is Double Wood Supplements Magnesium Glycinate 400mg, because one capsule carries 400mg of magnesium bisglycinate and the bottle holds 180 of them. THORNE Magnesium Glycinate is the better buy if third-party certification on the label matters more to you than bottle size, since it's the only pick here whose listing states that its contents were verified against the label. The entry tier in this set buys you volume: big counts, one form of magnesium, plain capsules. The middle tier buys published testing and a recognisable supplement brand. At the top, you're paying for allergen screening or a multi-form blend.

In this guide
1. [Best glycinate magnesium for muscle recovery at a glance](#best-glycinate-magnesium-for-muscle-recovery-at-a-glance)
2. [What the muscle recovery claim on the label actually covers](#what-the-muscle-recovery-claim-on-the-label-actually-covers)
3. [How I screened these six magnesium glycinate bottles](#how-i-screened-these-six-magnesium-glycinate-bottles)
4. [Dose per capsule, capsules per day: the number that matters](#dose-per-capsule-capsules-per-day-the-number-that-matters)
5. [1\. Double Wood Supplements Magnesium Glycinate 400mg — Best overall](#1-double-wood-supplements-magnesium-glycinate-400mg-%E2%80%94-best-overall)
6. [2\. THORNE Magnesium Glycinate — Runner-up](#2-thorne-magnesium-glycinate-%E2%80%94-runner-up)
7. [3\. Nature's Bounty High Absorption Magnesium Glycinate 240 mg — Best for pros](#3-natures-bounty-high-absorption-magnesium-glycinate-240-mg-%E2%80%94-best-for-pros)
8. [4\. Nobi Nutrition Magnesium Glycinate 500mg — Best budget pick](#4-nobi-nutrition-magnesium-glycinate-500mg-%E2%80%94-best-budget-pick)
9. [5\. BioEmblem Magnesium Glycinate Complex — Best premium](#5-bioemblem-magnesium-glycinate-complex-%E2%80%94-best-premium)
10. [6\. Pure Encapsulations Magnesium — Best minimal setup](#6-pure-encapsulations-magnesium-%E2%80%94-best-minimal-setup)
11. [How long does one bottle actually last?](#how-long-does-one-bottle-actually-last)
12. [What does paying more for magnesium glycinate buy you?](#what-does-paying-more-for-magnesium-glycinate-buy-you)
13. [The verdict](#the-verdict)
14. [FAQ](#faq)

## Best glycinate magnesium for muscle recovery at a glance

| Pick                                                                                                                              | Magnesium per serving       | Capsules per bottle | Price                                                             |
| --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | --------------------------- | ------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------------------- |
| **Best overall**[Double Wood Supplements Magnesium Glycinate 400mg](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B6CTYD6S?tag=aiimne-20)           | 400mg per capsule (claim)   | 180                 | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B6CTYD6S?tag=aiimne-20) |
| **Runner-up**[THORNE Magnesium Glycinate](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F5XYHRPV?tag=aiimne-20)                                     | Not stated in specs         | 90                  | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F5XYHRPV?tag=aiimne-20) |
| **Best for pros**[Nature's Bounty High Absorption Magnesium Glycinate 240 mg](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DT1JKGPH?tag=aiimne-20) | 240mg in 2 capsules (claim) | 120                 | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DT1JKGPH?tag=aiimne-20) |
| **Best budget pick**[Nobi Nutrition Magnesium Glycinate 500mg](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CWM5K6W6?tag=aiimne-20)                | 500mg per serving (claim)   | 120                 | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CWM5K6W6?tag=aiimne-20) |
| **Best premium**[BioEmblem Magnesium Glycinate Complex](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07TNJRN9N?tag=aiimne-20)                       | 300mg per serving (claim)   | 90                  | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07TNJRN9N?tag=aiimne-20) |
| **Best minimal setup**[Pure Encapsulations Magnesium](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07P5K7DQP?tag=aiimne-20)                         | Not stated in specs         | 90                  | [Check Price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07P5K7DQP?tag=aiimne-20) |

## What the muscle recovery claim on the label actually covers

Here's the honest part. Amazon's search for the best glycinate magnesium for muscle recovery returns bottles whose listings talk mostly about sleep, calm and general wellness. Muscle is mentioned, but loosely.

Look at what's actually written. Nature's Bounty says the form "provides support for heart; bone; nerve and muscle health". THORNE says magnesium glycinate "promotes muscle relaxation before bedtime". Nobi Nutrition lists "bone, muscle & heart health support". Double Wood puts recovery in the product title itself. Not one of these six listings states a dose designed around training, a study of soreness, or a timing protocol after exercise.

So treat the recovery angle as a shopping consideration you judge yourself, not a promise any of these six products can keep. What the data does let you compare is concrete:

- How much magnesium each serving claims to deliver
- How many capsules you swallow to get there
- How many days one bottle covers
- Whether the listing states third-party testing
- Whether the capsule holds glycinate alone or a blend

Those five things are checkable. "Faster recovery" is not, at least not from anything in these listings. If your goal is topping up daily magnesium intake around a training block, the specifications below are what you should be comparing.

## How I screened these six magnesium glycinate bottles

I built this shortlist around buyer profiles rather than around a spec sheet, because magnesium is a habit product. The bottle you finish is worth more than the bottle with the best label.

Four profiles shaped the picks:

1. **The nightly-dose lifter.** Trains most days, wants one capsule before bed, hates reordering. Needs a high dose per capsule and a big count.
2. **The label reader.** Cares that an outside lab confirmed what's in the capsule. Willing to accept 90 capsules to get it.
3. **The splitter.** Prefers a smaller dose twice a day, morning and night, rather than one large hit.
4. **The first-timer.** Doesn't know yet whether magnesium does anything for them, and doesn't want to spend much finding out.

Anything without magnesium glycinate named on the listing was out. Oxide and citrate-only products were out, because glycinate is the form in the query. Powders and gummies were out: capsules keep the comparison clean, since dose per capsule is the figure that lets you line these up against each other.

What survived is a set of six where the price positions run from cheapest to most expensive with no gaps, which is useful. It means you can see what each step up the ladder actually adds, and in this category the answer is not always "more magnesium".

## Dose per capsule, capsules per day: the number that matters

Most guides to the best glycinate magnesium for muscle recovery compare brands. That's the wrong axis. The number that decides this purchase is how much elemental magnesium you get per capsule, because that sets how many you swallow and how fast the bottle empties.

Watch the arithmetic on the labels. Nature's Bounty is explicit: "Just two capsules per day provide 240 mg of Magnesium". That's 120mg a capsule, and the 120-count bottle is a 60-day supply at that rate. Double Wood claims 400mg of magnesium bisglycinate in a single capsule, and calls its 180-count bottle a "six month supply". Nobi Nutrition claims 500mg per serving without stating how many capsules make a serving.

That last gap matters more than it looks. A 500mg serving could be one capsule or three. Until you read the panel on the bottle, you can't calculate cost per day or days per bottle. Two of the six picks here, THORNE and Pure Encapsulations, publish no dose figure at all in their specifications.

My rule: pick the dose that lets you take the product at the same time every day without thinking about it. One capsule at bedtime beats three capsules you sometimes forget. If you're splitting a dose to keep your stomach happy, a lower-dose capsule is a feature, not a weakness.

## 1\. Double Wood Supplements Magnesium Glycinate 400mg — Best overall

**A single 400mg capsule and 180 of them in the bottle make this the easiest magnesium habit to keep in the whole set.**

[![Double Wood magnesium glycinate bottle showing the 400mg 180-capsule label — the highest single-capsule dose and largest count in this comparison](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41Uyx8owKlL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B6CTYD6S?tag=aiimne-20)

**Best for:** a lifter who wants one capsule a night and a bottle that lasts half a year **Skip it if:** you want a blend of several magnesium forms

Two things separate this bottle from the other five. It holds 180 capsules, half again as many as the two 120-count picks and double the three 90-count bottles. And Double Wood states 400mg of magnesium bisglycinate per capsule, the highest single-capsule figure published anywhere in this set. The brand calls that a "six month supply", which lines up with one capsule a day.

The bottle itself is 4.5 x 2.5 x 2.5 in and weighs 4.06 oz, so it's the tallest of the six and still fits a bathroom shelf. Model number DWGLY, which is worth noting when you're reordering. Double Wood says the product is manufactured and tested in the USA from globally sourced ingredients, and tested for microbes and heavy metals, with third-party testing mentioned in its brand copy.

It's also the second-cheapest of the six, sitting in the entry tier while carrying the largest count. That combination is why it leads.

The trade-off is simplicity. You get glycinate and nothing else, so if you wanted malate or citrate alongside it, BioEmblem does that and this doesn't. A 400mg capsule is also a large one to swallow, and there's no smaller option in the range to step down to.

**Pros:**

- Highest published dose per capsule in this set
- 180 capsules, the largest count here
- Second-cheapest of the six despite the count
- Brand states USA manufacturing and heavy-metal testing
- Model number published for easy reordering

**Cons:**

- Single-form magnesium only, no blend
- 400mg capsule is physically large to swallow
- No third-party certification statement like THORNE's
- Only two sellers list it

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B6CTYD6S?tag=aiimne-20)

## 2\. THORNE Magnesium Glycinate — Runner-up

**The only pick here whose listing states an outside lab certified that the label matches the contents.**

[![THORNE magnesium glycinate 90-capsule bottle — the only listing in this set stating third-party certification against the label](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41zDsjZ6urL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F5XYHRPV?tag=aiimne-20)

**Best for:** anyone who wants third-party certification stated on the listing **Skip it if:** you want the dose per capsule printed in the specs

THORNE's listing makes a claim none of the other five make in the same terms. It says the product "has been third-party tested and certified to verify what's in the package matches what's on the label and to confirm it contains no unsafe levels" of contaminants. Several picks here mention testing. This one states verification against the label specifically, which is a different and stronger thing.

The bottle holds 90 capsules and measures 4.2 x 2.49 x 2.49 in, making it slimmer than the Double Wood bottle and taller than the Pure Encapsulations one. It sits fourth of six on price, so mid-range for this group, and it sells faster here than every pick except Pure Encapsulations.

On the muscle side, THORNE's copy points at relaxation rather than repair: glycine as "a calming neurotransmitter" and "muscle relaxation before bedtime". It also notes magnesium's involvement in more than 600 enzymatic reactions.

The frustration is the missing number. Nowhere in the published specifications does THORNE state milligrams of magnesium per capsule or per serving, so you cannot calculate how long 90 capsules lasts you until the bottle is in your hand. Against the 180-capsule Double Wood at a lower price position, that's a real gap.

**Pros:**

- Only listing here stating certification against the label
- Slim 4.2 x 2.49 x 2.49 in bottle
- Mid-range price position, not premium
- Sells quickly relative to the rest of this set

**Cons:**

- No magnesium dose figure in the published specs
- 90 capsules, half the Double Wood count
- No published weight for shipping or travel planning
- Recovery claims centre on bedtime relaxation, not training

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F5XYHRPV?tag=aiimne-20)

## 3\. Nature's Bounty High Absorption Magnesium Glycinate 240 mg — Best for pros

**The clearest dosing instructions in the set: two capsules a day for 240 mg, which makes a 120-count bottle a straight 60-day supply.**

[![Nature's Bounty magnesium glycinate 240 mg bottle, 120 count — the only pick stating both capsules per day and total milligrams](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/41sgbf0RZJL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DT1JKGPH?tag=aiimne-20)

**Best for:** someone splitting a modest dose across morning and night **Skip it if:** you want the highest magnesium per capsule here

This is the pick for people who like a spec sheet they can do arithmetic with. Nature's Bounty states that "just two capsules per day provide 240 mg of Magnesium", and the bottle holds 120 capsules. That's 120mg a capsule and 60 days per bottle, no guesswork. Nobody else in this set closes the loop that cleanly.

Splitting a dose is the practical case for it. Take one in the morning, one before bed, and you spread the intake instead of landing it all at once. The listing also states the product is suitable for vegetarians, non-GMO, gluten-free, lactose-free, and free of sugar, sodium, artificial colours and sweeteners. That's the longest dietary exclusion list of the six after Pure Encapsulations.

At 4.6 x 2.55 x 2.55 in it's the widest bottle here, and it holds the mid price position. The brand cites 50 years of making supplements, which is background rather than evidence.

The cost is dose density. 120mg a capsule is the lowest published figure in this set, so you swallow twice as many capsules for well under half the magnesium Double Wood claims per capsule. There's also no published weight or model number, and only two sellers list it.

**Pros:**

- Only pick stating both capsules per day and total milligrams
- 120-count bottle works out to a clean 60-day supply
- Long list of dietary exclusions including lactose and gluten
- Mid price position, not premium

**Cons:**

- Lowest magnesium per capsule of any pick here
- Two capsules daily instead of one
- Widest bottle in the set at 2.55 in across
- No published weight or model number

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DT1JKGPH?tag=aiimne-20)

## 4\. Nobi Nutrition Magnesium Glycinate 500mg — Best budget pick

**The cheapest of the six, with the highest claimed serving in the set and small capsules to get it down.**

[![Nobi Nutrition magnesium glycinate 500mg bottle, 120 count — the cheapest pick here and the highest claimed magnesium per serving](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/51g9GXTvqAL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CWM5K6W6?tag=aiimne-20)

**Best for:** a first-time buyer testing whether magnesium helps their sleep **Skip it if:** you want published weight, dimensions or a model number

If you've never taken magnesium and you want to find out cheaply whether it does anything for you, start here. Nobi Nutrition is the cheapest of the six and holds 120 capsules, which is more than the three 90-count bottles above it on price. That's an easy first bottle to commit to.

The claimed serving is 500mg, the highest number stated anywhere in this set. The listing also calls the capsules "small and easy-to-swallow" and says the formula is chelated to stay gentle on the stomach, which matters if bigger capsules have put you off supplements before. Nobi says the product is doctor-formulated and third-party tested, and that every batch is vegan, gluten-free and non-GMO.

Then there's what's missing. The published specifications list only size and count. No weight, no dimensions, no model number, and crucially no statement of how many capsules make up that 500mg serving. If it's two, this bottle is a 60-day supply at 250mg a capsule, which changes the picture entirely.

It's also the slowest seller of the six, and the thinnest specification sheet here means you're buying more on the strength of the marketing copy than on published figures.

**Pros:**

- Cheapest pick in this comparison
- 120 capsules, more than the three 90-count bottles
- Highest claimed magnesium per serving at 500mg
- Listing describes small, easy-to-swallow capsules

**Cons:**

- Capsules per serving not stated, so days per bottle is unknown
- No published weight, dimensions or model number
- Slowest seller of the six here
- Recovery support mentioned only in a broad list of body systems

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CWM5K6W6?tag=aiimne-20)

## 5\. BioEmblem Magnesium Glycinate Complex — Best premium

**The only pick that puts glycinate, malate and citrate in one capsule, at 300mg magnesium per serving.**

[![BioEmblem triple magnesium complex bottle, 90 capsules — the only pick here combining glycinate, malate and citrate](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/418l925DwnL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07TNJRN9N?tag=aiimne-20)

**Best for:** someone who wants glycinate, malate and citrate in one capsule **Skip it if:** you only want glycinate and nothing else

BioEmblem is the outlier, and deliberately so. Its single feature claim describes a "Triple Magnesium Complex supplement with magnesium glycinate, malate, and citrate" delivering 300mg magnesium per serving, plus vegan, non-GMO and third-party tested status. Every other pick in this comparison is glycinate alone.

That's the whole argument for it. If you've read that different magnesium forms behave differently and you'd rather not choose, this is the one bottle here that doesn't make you. The blend is why it sits at the top of the price ladder.

Physically it's a 90-capsule bottle at 4.33 x 2.24 x 2.24 in, the narrowest across of the six, with a published weight of 0.3 g and model number B19040009-01-2004\. It's the most expensive pick here.

The problems are real. It's the most expensive bottle in the set and it holds 90 capsules, so you get the smallest count at the highest price position. The listing carries a single feature claim, the sparsest of any pick here, which means less published detail to check than the cheaper bottles offer. And if glycinate is specifically what you came for, a blend dilutes it: 300mg per serving is split across three forms, not three hundred milligrams of glycinate.

**Pros:**

- Only multi-form magnesium pick in this set
- 300mg magnesium per serving stated on the listing
- Narrowest bottle here at 2.24 in across
- Vegan, non-GMO and third-party tested per the listing

**Cons:**

- Most expensive pick with the smallest count
- Glycinate is only one of three forms in the serving
- Single feature claim, the least published detail here
- Capsules per serving not stated

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07TNJRN9N?tag=aiimne-20)

## 6\. Pure Encapsulations Magnesium — Best minimal setup

**Built around what's left out: free from common allergens, artificial ingredients and GMOs, per the brand's own standard.**

[![Pure Encapsulations magnesium glycinate bottle, 90 capsules — the most compact bottle in this set at 3.8 in tall](https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/31J-9i+vZDL._SL500_.jpg)](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07P5K7DQP?tag=aiimne-20)

**Best for:** shoppers who screen hard for allergens and additives **Skip it if:** you need a large bottle at a low position on price

Pure Encapsulations sells absence. Its listing states the products are "FREE FROM common allergens, artificial or unnecessary ingredients, and GMOs", and that framing is the reason to buy it. If you react to fillers or you're managing an allergy, a short ingredient list is worth paying for.

It's also the pick buyers here choose most often, by a clear margin over the rest of this set. The bottle holds 90 capsules, weighs 4.8 oz, the heaviest of the six despite the small count, and measures 2.25 x 3.8 x 2.25 in. That makes it the shortest bottle here, which is genuinely useful in a packed medicine cabinet or a gym bag. Model number 12450873.

The feature copy runs wide rather than deep: enzyme activation for neuromuscular contraction and cardiac function, carbohydrate and amino acid metabolism, vitamin B6 and C utilisation, and sleep cycle support. Muscle appears in the neuromuscular claim, which is the closest thing here to a recovery statement.

What holds it back is value. It's in the premium tier with 90 capsules and no published magnesium dose, so you're paying near the top of this set for the smallest count and the least dosing information. Against Double Wood's 180 capsules at 400mg each, the gap is hard to argue away.

**Pros:**

- Explicit free-from standard covering allergens and GMOs
- The pick buyers choose most often in this set
- Shortest bottle here at 3.8 in tall
- Model number published for reordering

**Cons:**

- Premium price position with only 90 capsules
- No magnesium dose figure in the published specs
- Heaviest bottle here at 4.8 oz despite the low count
- No stated third-party certification like THORNE's

[Check Price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07P5K7DQP?tag=aiimne-20)

## How long does one bottle actually last?

Days per bottle is the figure that turns a price position into real value, and only some of these listings let you work it out. Here's where each stands on the numbers published.

- **Double Wood:** 180 capsules, 400mg each, described as a six month supply. Longest run in the set.
- **Nature's Bounty:** 120 capsules, two a day for 240 mg. That's 60 days, stated plainly.
- **Nobi Nutrition:** 120 capsules, 500mg serving, capsules per serving not given. Somewhere between 40 and 120 days.
- **BioEmblem:** 90 capsules, 300mg serving, capsules per serving not given.
- **THORNE:** 90 capsules, no dose figure published.
- **Pure Encapsulations:** 90 capsules, no dose figure published.

Two conclusions follow. First, Double Wood and Nature's Bounty are the only picks where you can calculate the reorder date before you buy. Second, a 90-capsule bottle can be anything from a 90-day supply to a 30-day one depending on the panel, so count alone tells you less than you'd think.

If you're building a habit around a training block, plan the reorder. Running out mid-block is how a nightly supplement quietly becomes a drawer supplement.

## What does paying more for magnesium glycinate buy you?

The price ladder in this set runs cleanly from cheapest to most expensive, which makes the pattern easy to read. It is not simply more magnesium.

At the entry positions, Nobi Nutrition and Double Wood, you get volume and single-form glycinate. Nobi gives you 120 capsules for the lowest outlay in the set. Double Wood gives you 180 and the highest published dose per capsule. Neither publishes an outside certification statement in the way THORNE does.

In the middle, Nature's Bounty and THORNE, you're buying information and assurance. Nature's Bounty tells you exactly what two capsules deliver. THORNE tells you a lab checked the label. Both hold 120 and 90 capsules respectively, so the count drops as the position rises.

At the premium end, Pure Encapsulations and BioEmblem, the extra spend buys a formulation stance. Pure Encapsulations sells a free-from standard. BioEmblem sells a three-form blend. Both give you 90 capsules, the smallest bottles in the set.

So the ladder in this category trades count for credentials. If your priority is a daily magnesium habit you can sustain, the entry positions are better value. If your priority is a screened ingredient list or verified label accuracy, pay up and accept the smaller bottle.

## The verdict

Double Wood Supplements Magnesium Glycinate 400mg is the best glycinate magnesium for muscle recovery for most people, because it removes the two things that break a supplement habit. One capsule a night, 180 of them in a bottle, and a claimed 400mg of magnesium bisglycinate in each. It sits second-cheapest of the six while holding the largest count, which no other pick here comes close to matching.

Two conditions flip that. If verified label accuracy is your bar, take THORNE Magnesium Glycinate instead: it's the only listing in this set that states an outside lab certified the contents against the label, and it holds a mid price position rather than a premium one. You give up 90 capsules and a published dose figure to get it. And if you screen hard for allergens or additives, Pure Encapsulations Magnesium is the pick, because its free-from standard covering common allergens, artificial ingredients and GMOs is the most specific formulation commitment here.

One caution on all six. Muscle appears in these listings inside broad wellness claims and bedtime relaxation copy, not in anything resembling a training protocol. Buy for daily magnesium intake and treat the recovery framing as marketing, whichever bottle you choose.

## FAQ

### Is the best glycinate magnesium for muscle recovery worth buying at all?

Glycinate magnesium for muscle recovery is worth buying if your goal is topping up daily magnesium intake, which several of these listings tie to muscle, nerve and heart function. It isn't worth buying as a targeted post-workout treatment, because none of these six listings publishes a dose or protocol aimed at exercise. Set your expectations at daily nutrition, not accelerated repair.

### Which offers better value, Double Wood or Nobi Nutrition?

Better value between Double Wood and Nobi Nutrition depends on what you can verify. Nobi is the cheapest pick here with 120 capsules, but it doesn't state how many capsules make its 500mg serving. Double Wood costs slightly more, holds 180 capsules, and states 400mg per single capsule. Because you can calculate days per bottle with Double Wood, it's the safer value.

### How much magnesium glycinate does each capsule contain?

Each capsule contains a different amount, and two picks don't say. Double Wood claims 400mg of magnesium bisglycinate per capsule. Nature's Bounty states two capsules give 240 mg, so 120mg each. Nobi claims 500mg per serving and BioEmblem 300mg per serving, without stating capsules per serving. THORNE and Pure Encapsulations publish no dose figure in their specifications.

### Does capsule size or bottle count matter more?

Capsule size or bottle count both matter, but for different reasons. A large capsule like Double Wood's 400mg means one dose a day and fewer swallows, though it's physically bigger. Nobi advertises small, easy-to-swallow capsules. Count sets your reorder interval: 180 capsules at one a day runs far longer than 90\. Pick the size you'll actually take consistently.

### What's the most common mistake when buying magnesium glycinate?

The most common mistake when buying magnesium glycinate is comparing bottle counts without checking the serving size. A 120-capsule bottle at three capsules per serving lasts 40 days. A 180-capsule bottle at one per day lasts six months. Read the milligrams per capsule and the capsules per serving together, then work out your cost per day from there.

Start with Double Wood if you want the decision made: one capsule, 400mg, 180 in the bottle, and a reorder date you can calculate before you open it. Switch to THORNE if certification against the label is your line in the sand, or to Pure Encapsulations if your ingredient screening is strict. Whichever you pick, put the bottle where you'll see it at the same time every night, because the magnesium that helps is the magnesium you actually take. Consistency beats milligrams, and a six-month bottle is a lot easier to be consistent with than a thirty-day one.

*Last updated: October 5, 2026\. Product availability re-checked.*

*This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.*